Go Back   DealershipForum.com > Regional Forums > Northwest Region > Automotive Discussions

Notices

Old 01-19-2010, 12:46 PM   #1
XDCX
Administrator

Default Former Underriner Motors employee charged in theft of $200,000

News reports indicate a former employee of Underriner Motors has been charged in the theft of over $200,000 from the dealership. For the full report - click here

As I understand it, the defendant was responsible for cashiering, accounts payable and making bank deposits. The indictment alleges the defendant defrauded the dealership by taking cash deposits and hiding the losses by making false entries into the company’s books and understating the amount of deposited checks. The scheme went on for over three years.

While I'm not an accounting expert, shouldn't this have been caught sooner than three years after the scheme started? Unless she had the ability to write-off balances, you'd think the $200K shortage would show up as aged receivables.
XDCX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 04:10 PM   #2
MARV

Know of a similar situation nearby. New car franchise that's been around since the 60's. Comptroller was doing pretty much the same thing. Handling the deposits and adjusting them on the way to the bank while pocketing the difference. She hid it by adjusting every deal $125 claiming some doc fee existed internally and management bought it. When she bought this huge home (larger than the dealer's) on a nearby lake and several new cars her answer to where the money suddenly came from was that a deceased relative willed it to her. The dealer became suspicious and called the GBI who investigated and nailed her but not for all she had allegedly stolen since one of the stores mysteriously burned to the ground with the records.
MARV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 04:24 PM   #3
XDCX
Administrator

MARV - great story, thanks for sharing.