Go Back   DealershipForum.com > Dealer Talk > Automotive Discussions

Notices

Automotive Discussions Car People talking about the Car Business – This is the place where it happens

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2011, 11:29 AM   #1
s-works
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 103
Default anyone running era-link or eraaccess on a MAC (running Windows)

I need a new laptop and would like to go with a macbook. My concern is running ERA on it. I am sure I would have to run windows. Is anyone currently doing this? I know reynolds doesent support it but if it can be done I would like to go back to an Apple Laptop.
s-works is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:53 PM   #2
mr4t60e
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 121
Default

Not sure if this helps or not but I was able to run ADP through a terminal program on my Mac back when I worked for a dealer that ran ADP. Regardless, though, installing Windows on a newer Mac is easy works exactly the same as a real PC running the same. If you want to run OS X and Windows side by side (Paralells) be sure not to skimp on the RAM. Good luck!
mr4t60e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 05:40 PM   #3
ohiobuckeyes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s-works View Post
I need a new laptop and would like to go with a macbook. My concern is running ERA on it. I am sure I would have to run windows. Is anyone currently doing this? I know reynolds doesent support it but if it can be done I would like to go back to an Apple Laptop.
What type of relationship do you have with your Reynolds Field Tech? If it is a great one, ask him if you have a trusted and truthful tech like we have at the dealership he/she will be able to tell you if it can be done.

But I did asked him this question before the Holiday break, he told me it can be done, and if you lucky Reynolds can support it as well. Told me a dealer in Ohio ran his personal computer as a Apple.
ohiobuckeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 08:31 PM   #4
s-works
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 103
Default

Reynolds will not support or confirm. I remember eralink failing to install on amd chipsets. Bah! Not a fan of reynolds. I will hope and pray that it works (or that someone in Reynolds will show me how to backdoor it).
s-works is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 04:53 PM   #5
XDCX
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14,861
Default Running Windows 7 on a Mac

This video's over a year old but you still might find it to be informative - click here

The link goes to a CNET video that features Brian Tong and he describes how to install Windows 7 on a Mac. It looked pretty painless to me.

On a side note, I've watched quite a few of Tong's videos - he does a great job and I respect the fact he's not so loyal to Apple that he cannot see their faults.
XDCX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reynolds is making changes to Third-Party Automated Access into ERA ssdd Automotive Discussions 31 09-03-2011 02:32 PM
Dave Smith Motors is running full page ads in the Seattle Times XDCX Automotive Discussions 9 08-26-2011 11:26 AM
Walmart CEO - "Our customers are running out of money" XDCX General Discussions 4 05-06-2011 04:05 PM
GM is running some "nice" ads in Colorado. SHACOS Sales 3 02-22-2010 09:23 PM
Desk Link / Lease Link CL Pgh Automotive Discussions 12 11-19-2008 05:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright DealershipForum.com - 2008 - 2016