Go Back   DealershipForum.com > Dealer Talk > Automotive Discussions

Notices

Automotive Discussions Car People talking about the Car Business – This is the place where it happens

Old 10-23-2012, 11:55 AM   #1
XDCX
Administrator

Default States that don't charge Sales Tax on Private Party Vehicle Sales

For those who have followed the saga associated with my family's fleet of vehicles (For details on the saga - click here) you know my Dad's been looking for a replacement vehicle for his trusty Chrysler 300m.

My Dad was almost ready to pull the trigger on a used 2012 Chrysler 300 Limited but he was frustrated that it was difficult to find a Limited that was equipped with Navigation on the 8.4" center display. The other deal breaker was Sales Tax. In Arizona, Private Party sales are not subject to Sales Tax.

Now clearly, I'm a pro-dealer guy but I have to admit it's hard to recommend someone buy a used car from a dealer and pay Sales Tax if they can find an equivalent vehicle from a Private Party and save the Sales Tax. In Arizona the Sales Tax rate for used cars varies by locality but ranges between 8 and 10 percent. In my eyes, Sales Tax is 100% pure depreciation.

Do Private Party sellers have any tax advantages in your state?
XDCX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:39 PM   #2
rd3311

Here in FL the DMV collects tax on private sales based on sale price or difference if there are any trades involved. Of course the DMV wants copies of any receipts or sale agreements to verify the amount to tax.

I remember Oregon had no sales tax on any kind of purchase unless that has been changed.