Go Back   DealershipForum.com > Domestic Franchises and Independent Dealers > General Motors > Sales

Notices

Old 11-03-2015, 01:14 PM   #1
XDCX
Administrator

Default GM placed an ad in Automotive News for California Open Points

I was surfing the Classifieds section of Automotive News the other day and I was somewhat surprised to see there was a Dealership listing that mentioned "No blue sky" as part of the ad.

When I studied the ad more carefully I noticed the contact person had a General Motors email address.

Initially I thought GM must be selling off some of their factory stores or perhaps a struggling Minority Store but then I re-read the ad and noticed the ad mentioned "Greenfield locations" and after a quick Google search I realized GM must be advertising two Open Points and soliciting Dealer interest.

With all of the Public Groups and the Megadealers looking to buys stores I'm surprised that GM would resort to an ad in Automotive News to solicit interest in two Open Points in California.

Here's an illustration of the ad:

XDCX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 04:22 PM   #2
DealerEx

yep...totally new points it sounds like. I expect the "well capitalized" requirement is paramount with the costs of those "greenfield" real estate sites plus the multi-million dollar facilities that would have to be built on them in the SF area.
DealerEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 05:41 AM   #3
steve_biegler

In talking to a current Chrysler dealer over the weekend, it looks as though Chrysler is looking to add points in the Minneapolis area. One in a town that they closed a full line guy back in '09.
steve_biegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 06:55 AM   #4
XDCX
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by DealerEx View Post