Go Back   DealershipForum.com > Regional Forums > East Region > Automotive Discussions

Notices

Old 04-22-2010, 01:39 PM   #1
XDCX
Administrator

Default Dealer pleads guilty to Federal Check Kiting Charges

News reports indicate a used car/RV dealer in Bordertown Township, PA plead guilty to Federal charges for check kiting. Here's a link to the full report - click here

The owner of the business acknowledged he deposited 125 checks with a total face value of $117 Million between three different accounts and transferred funds before the checks would clear. The owner also plead guilty to fraudulently obtaining a loan for $500,000 in an effort to cover the eventual overdrafts. The scheme lasted between March, 2008 and July, 2008.

While I'm not an expert, I was amazed that check kiting can still exist in today's electronic age. Additionally, I was surprised to see check kiting was prosecuted as a Federal case?
XDCX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 11:39 AM   #2
XDCX
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDCX View Post
While I'm not an expert, I was amazed that check kiting can still exist in today's electronic age. Additionally, I was surprised to see check kiting was prosecuted as a Federal case?
I read a follow-up report and it helped answer the two questions.

The reason it was a Federal Case was because the bank that incurred the loss, KeyBank, was part of the FDIC - making it a federally insured financial institution.

Concerning the dealer's ability to institute a check kiting scheme in today's electronic age, ironically, it was an advancement in technology that allowed him to complete his scheme. The dealer was provided with a check reader from KeyBank allowing him to electronically deposit checks without presenting the checks for deposit.