Go Back   DealershipForum.com > Dealer Talk > Automotive Discussions

Notices

Automotive Discussions Car People talking about the Car Business – This is the place where it happens

Old 10-14-2012, 10:15 AM   #1
shwngo

Default Need some clarity on Ohio law

I have searched the web for hours and can not find this anywhere.

I worked for a local dealer group who changed the doc fee "per the law" that any vehicle from $1 up $2499.99 was to be charged a 10% doc fee and everything $2500 and up was our normal $250 doc. I have since switched dealerships and the new one said they know of no such law. Can anyone point me in the right direction to find out what the fact is?
shwngo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 01:21 PM   #2
mr4t60e

Disclaimer: I am NOT a lawyer and am not rendering legal advice. That being said...

ORC 4517.261 states that: "A motor vehicle dealer may contract for and receive a documentary service charge for a retail or wholesale sale or lease of a motor vehicle. A documentary service charge shall be specified in writing without itemization of the individual services provided. A documentary service charge shall be not more than the lesser of the following:

(A) The amount allowed in a retail installment sale;

(B) Ten per cent of the amount the buyer or lessee is required to pay pursuant to the contract, excluding tax, title, and registration fees, and any negative equity adjustment."
mr4t60e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 01:52 PM   #3
ohiobuckeyes

From The OADA Website -

•For motor vehicle transactions totaling more than $2499.99, a dealer may charge a documentary service charge of up to $250.

•For motor vehicle transactions totaling $2499.99 or less, excluding tax, title, registration fees and any negative equity adjustment, a dealer may charge a documentary service charge no greater than 10% of that amount.