Go Back   DealershipForum.com > Dealer Talk > Automotive Discussions

Notices

Automotive Discussions Car People talking about the Car Business – This is the place where it happens

Old 02-24-2014, 04:38 PM   #1
Cookie

Default Service Advisor Pay Scale?

I am a General Manager for a Ford Dealership in Northern Ca.
I joined this group with this subject in mind and I have discovered I enjoy reading the forum topics.
If you don't mind what is the pay scale out there for 5+ years automotive service advisors?
We currently pay a base salary plus over 50% of their wages in a percentage of the adjusted selling gross of the Parts and Service depts.
The adjusted selling gross line varies from month to month quite a bit. I am looking for a more stable approach as the business has changed over the years. We need these guys to have an incentive to produce yet they need stable wages at the same time.
Thanks!
Cookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 11:07 AM   #2
XDCX
Administrator

Cookie - First post - Welcome to DealershipForum.

Concerning pay scale for a Service Advisor, in my experience there's a wide variation based on the size of the store and the market where the dealership is located. (There's also a variation based on franchise.)

For a small store in a rural market it wouldn't surprise me if the pay scale was still in the $2,000 - $2,200 per month range. For a larger store (especially a European New Car franchise) it wouldn't surprise me if the pay scale was $100K+ per year.

Establishing a pay plan also has a number of variables:
  • What percentage is paid on labor sales?
  • What percentage is paid on parts sales?
  • Is there a different rate for Warranty/Recall repairs?
  • Is there a different rate for Internal repairs?
  • Are there incentives based on Customer Satisfaction?
  • Are there incentives paid on hitting certain targets - hours/RO as an example
  • Is a portion of the pay plan fixed as a salary?