Go Back   DealershipForum.com > Domestic Franchises and Independent Dealers > General Motors > Parts

Notices

Old 11-29-2012, 07:10 PM   #1
GM1112

Default New to GM Parts Dept

I would appreciate someone to provide me with easy to follow step by step instructions for the following "RETURNS PROCEDURES":
1) Customer special order returns
2) Wrong part ordered returns
3) Light core returns
4) Heavy core returns
I am new in the parts dept and have been pretty much thrown in to sink or swim. I have read through the procedures on Global Connect, but they seem
to be very complex to me at this time. Any help would be helpful. Thanks.
GM1112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 06:27 AM   #2
zep33

Hey - welcome to GM

I would think CSO amd wrong part returns would fall under the same category and are subject to a 35% restocking fee. I try to hold onto them and use my return reserve to send them back at the end of the year. Luckily, I don't have a lot of obsolesence here and last year chose the 75% cash back option for my reserve. Will probably do that this year too.

Core returns are done through Parts Workbench on Global.

You'll want to get a roll of those green stickers if you don't already have them. You can send an email to coreinfo@hlgllc.com to get them - they're free and there's a number on there that is required when you're inputing them into Global. I can offer more help once you get ready to do some. You'll just print a packing list for the light cores off of Global and fill out the PC302 form.

For the heavy cores, you'll input them the same way as the light cores but your PDC will send you labels to put on the parts.

Good luck and let me know if I can help with anything else
zep33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 07:27 AM   #3
tnpartsguy

Default training website

there is also some training for returns on the training website.
How close are you to another GM dealership?
tnpartsguy is offline   Reply With Quote